FAQ

Doug a-t-il des originaux disponibles ?

Oui!Voir tous les originaux disponibles ici .N'oubliez pas de revenir car la collection s'agrandit régulièrement.Instagram et Facebook offrent la fenêtre la plus à jour sur le studio.Obtenez des tirages abordables sur LaRueArts.com

Puis-je commander une peinture à Doug ?

Oui!Actuellement, il y a quelques personnes sur la liste d'attente pour de nouvelles peintures commandées.L'attente est d'environ 4 mois.Les dimensions minimales sont de 24 x 24 po (60,96 x 60,96 cm) à partir de 2880 $.Les dimensions personnalisées sont les bienvenues, car les toiles peuvent être commandées dans n'importe quelle taille pour de grands murs spécifiques.Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur la commande de nouvelles œuvres d'art, contactez le studio. studio@laruearts.com

Comment fonctionne la caution remboursable pour une peinture à commission ?

Un dépôt de 50% est nécessaire pour être ajouté à la liste d'attente, cependant le dépôt complet est remboursable à tout moment.La commission peut être annulée avant, pendant ou après que la peinture soit terminée par Doug ou le client.L'art est très personnel et subjectif à la fois pour le(s) client(s) et pour l'artiste, donc dans le cas où une œuvre d'art commandée n'est pas réclamée, elle sera publiée sur le marché libre et/ou dans les galeries.Pas de mal.Ce système a fait le bonheur de tout le monde, et surtout il permet à Doug de suivre sa méthode inhérente à son processus créatif.Pour une commission, les clients suggèrent généralement un sujet et des préférences de palette.Doug n'accepte pas tous les sujets ou toutes les palettes mais est heureux d'entendre ce que vous avez en tête.Par exemple, un client peut dire qu'il veut une œuvre d'art horizontale de 72 po x 90 po représentant quelque chose qui rappelle ses trois peintures préférées de son catalogue.Étant donné que le dépôt est remboursable à 100 %, Doug a la liberté de suivre la suggestion et de la faire sienne.L'illustration finale est une surprise unique pour Doug et le client.

Doug vend-il des tirages de son travail ?

Oui, à partir de 25 $, presque toutes les peintures que Doug a jamais créées sont disponibles sous forme d'impression sur toile tendue.Aucun encadrement supplémentaire n'est requis.Les impressions arrivent prêtes à être accrochées.Livraison gratuite dans les 48 États contigus, au Canada, au Royaume-Uni, en Irlande, en France, en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas.Achetez ici.

Comment Doug a-t-il découvert ses talents artistiques ?

Les talents de Doug sont nés de l'éducation et de la formation qui ont commencé avant même qu'il n'en ait la moindre idée, comme la plupart des talents naturels.Un père obsédé par le baseball a commencé par la coordination œil-main en lançant et en attrapant n'importe quelle balle à portée de main.Il avait également une passion pour les appareils mécaniques et aimait les appareils photo.Ma mère me donnait naturellement des leçons impromptues de dessin et d'esquisse chaque fois qu'elle trouvait un outil de dessin dans ma main.

Qu'est-ce qui a inspiré Doug à devenir artiste ?

Dès son plus jeune âge, Doug savait qu'il aimait dessiner.Il a été félicité par ses professeurs et ses camarades de classe pour les dessins qu'il a créés.Il a mis de nombreuses heures de pratique tout au long de son enfance et a beaucoup appris de sa mère qui était peintre à l'huile.L'école primaire où Doug est allé était plus axée sur la musique en tant qu'exutoire créatif que sur l'art, alors Doug passait volontiers son temps à dessiner dans les cours de musique, ce qui, pour une raison quelconque, ne semblait pas déranger !Le lycée était différent, Doug a été autorisé à sauter les cours d'art pour débutants et est passé aux cours avancés de sa première année.Doug a été encouragé par ses deux parents, qui ont soutenu ses efforts pour absorber autant de connaissances sur l'art et la photographie qu'il le souhaitait.Le père de Doug était un ingénieur en mécanique avec un intérêt pour la photographie était de bons amis qui étudiant / associé d'affaires d'Ansel Adams qui ont permis à Doug de l'aider ce qui a conduit à des stages avec plusieurs photographes professionnels.

Où Doug a-t-il grandi ?

Doug est né le 12 février 1965 à Amarillo, au Texas, mais peu de temps après, Doug a déménagé à Dallas, au Texas.Fort des compétences et des talents que lui ont présentés sa famille et ses amis, Doug a pu s'intégrer confortablement dans un large éventail de groupes sociaux.Doug a travaillé tout au long de sa jeunesse sur des terrains de golf, des cinémas et des magasins d'appareils photo.Doug a toujours été encouragé à poursuivre ses rêves, en équilibrant l'amour de son travail avec la poursuite d'une carrière liée à l'art qui serait plus prometteuse financièrement.

Où Doug est-il allé à l'école ?

Doug a suivi des cours d'art avancés au lycée, a travaillé dans des magasins d'appareils photo, des laboratoires photo, a fait un stage avec des photographes, dont un associé et contemporain d'Ansel Adams, a suivi des cours d'été universitaires en photographie avancée à la Southern Methodist University, a remporté un prix national de conception de publication et a été présenté dans un film documentaire qui a conduit à une bourse d'études collégiales. Doug a fréquenté la Texas A&M University où il a obtenu son baccalauréat ès sciences en conception environnementale (architecture).Afin de poursuivre son éducation artistique, LaRue est devenu illustrateur médical pour l'un des centres médicaux vétérinaires les plus prestigieux des États-Unis, où il a assisté à de nombreux ateliers d'artistes, notamment Advanced Airbrush au Smithsonian Institute of Natural History de Washington, DC. 

Depuis combien de temps Doug peint-il ?

Doug peint depuis l'enfance mais a dû équilibrer passion et revenu, il a donc trouvé des emplois adjacents à "Artiste".Illustrateur médical, artiste de production, technicien de laboratoire, graphiste, cadreur, photographe, directeur artistique, directeur de création, producteur, architecte...Doug a géré des productions créatives tout en continuant à peindre et à apprendre.Finalement, les revenus dérivés de la production artistique ont commencé à surpasser la conception et la gestion de la marque jusqu'à ce qu'il devienne l'objectif principal de son studio.Doug a publié des livres et des magazines, produit des films, réalisé des photographies pour les principaux réseaux de télévision par câble, conçu et construit des bâtiments et plus encore, mais revient toujours au dessin et à la peinture comme un lien avec sa source de créativité.

Où Doug trouve-t-il l'inspiration pour son art ?

Au début de la carrière de Doug, alors qu'il travaillait comme photographe, Doug a décroché une commande pour photographier la collection d'art d'un homme à Houston, au Texas.Il s'est avéré que l'homme était le PDG à la retraite de la plus grande chaîne de magasins d'informatique de la côte ouest et que sa collection d'art était vaste, précieuse et pleine de maîtres bien connus comme Picasso, Rembrandt, Toulouse La Trek.Doug a passé 2 jours à photographier tout l'art dans l'appartement de 3 étages de l'homme dans le quartier de Melrose.On n'a normalement pas l'occasion de toucher ou de manipuler de telles œuvres d'art.Ce fut une expérience profonde pour un jeune artiste qui débutait.Sentir la surface d'une peinture vieille de 400 ans ou monter un escalier en portant un vieux chevalet antique pour effrayer votre client et découvrir que le vieux chevalet branlant vaut 200 000 $.

Alors que Doug avait l'habitude de s'inspirer davantage des références photographiques de ses voyages, au cours des dernières années, il y a eu un changement dans la source des idées.Doug a passé des années à peindre à partir de photos afin de pratiquer et de développer sa technique en sachant tout au long que le sujet conceptuel est la clé de son inspiration.La méditation a été une grande source d'idées et de direction.Ses peintures récentes ont été plus conceptuelles invoquant l'inspiration à travers les émotions.Doug méditera puis plongera dans une toile abstraite tout en continuant à méditer et à se concentrer sur des pensées spécifiques ou des directions générales.Souvent, de grandes idées conceptuelles se révèlent lors de la création de peintures abstraites non dirigées.

Quels artistes influencent le travail de Doug ?

Son travail est principalement influencé par trois de ses peintres préférés : Klimt, Van Gogh et Picasso avec une touche de Remedios Varo.Il s'efforce d'avoir un jour un style de signature dont d'autres s'inspireront.

Quels conseils Doug a-t-il pour les jeunes artistes en herbe ?

Doug dit souvent aux jeunes artistes que des heures et des heures de pratique sont essentielles pour atteindre leurs objectifs artistiques.Il partage également des histoires de son propre succès, racontant aux fans ses années en tant que directeur artistique apprenant de professionnels chevronnés, ce qui était une étape essentielle pour faire de l'art une carrière.Les médias sociaux ont été un énorme catalyseur du succès de Doug.Il accorde beaucoup d'importance au partage via les réseaux sociaux et à la création de pages spécifiquement dédiées à l'art.Le Web permet la publicité gratuite, de sorte que les nouveaux artistes peuvent gagner du terrain dans le monde de l'art avec une croissance lente, durable et organique.

Combien de temps faut-il pour terminer les peintures de Doug ?

Maintenant que Doug peint à plus grande échelle, ses toiles prennent quelques jours à planifier et plusieurs semaines à terminer.

Doug donne-t-il des cours?

Doug donnait des cours de Photoshop et de photographie, mais il est devenu trop occupé pour continuer à enseigner.Il écrit actuellement un livre en trois parties sur le dessin, la peinture et la photographie.

Quel est le processus créatif de Doug ?

Doug vit et travaille depuis son studio à Austin, au Texas.Un endroit facile pour se retrouver pieds nus dans la saleté, connecté à la vibration de la planète.Doug avait besoin que son environnement devienne silencieux afin qu'il puisse aligner ses fréquences et se connecter à la source.Les jours de peinture, Doug orne un vieux t-shirt sans manches et un short funky, monte la musique et s'assure que Moo Moo le chat du studio a de la nourriture dans son bol.La plupart de ses peintures commencent par une note d'iPhone, une référence photo ou une page de l'un des 76 carnets de croquis posés partout.Plus tard, il passe à Photoshop pour développer l'idée en couleur à l'aide d'un système de collage ou de montage numérique.Ensuite, il imprime le croquis numérique et prépare sa toile avec un lavis coloré d'huiles Holbein diluées - ses peintures de choix.Une fois la couche de base sèche, Doug se lance à pleine vapeur dans la peinture.  La plupart des peintures durent plusieurs jours d'affilée de 8 à 10 heures par jour, et le temps passe vite alors que ses pinceaux, gants, couteaux et chiffons massent. la toile, sentir les couleurs à l'huile épaisses ou les acryliques donner vie à la toile. 

Doug a-t-il envisagé d'expérimenter d'autres techniques à l'avenir ?

Doug a toujours expérimenté divers médiums.  Cela fait partie de l'éducation d'un artiste bien équilibré.  Les principaux médiums de Doug sont l'encre, l'huile, l'acrylique et la photographie.

Quelle a été la peinture la plus difficile/technique de Doug et pourquoi ?

Ceux avec plusieurs humains inclus comme "Big Band" ou Armadillo Art Squad qui est une illustration à l'encre représentant un grand nombre de portraits d'artistes.Si vous êtes assez audacieux pour créer des portraits d'autres contemporains, alors vous feriez mieux de vous assurer qu'ils sont précis et flatteurs pour l'artiste !

FAQ

Does Doug have any available originals?

Yes! View all available originals here. Don’t forget to check back in as the collection steadily grows. Instagram and Facebook offers the most up-to-date window into the studio. Get affordable prints at LaRueArts.com

 

Can I commission Doug for a painting?

Yes! Currently there are a few people on the waitlist for new commissioned paintings. The wait is around 4 months. Minimum size dimensions are 24 x 24 in (60.96 x 60.96 cm) which starts at $2480. Custom dimensions are welcome, as canvases can be ordered at any size for specific large walls. If you would like to learn more about commissioning new art, contact the studio.  studio@laruearts.com
 

How does the refundable deposit for a commission painting work? 

A 50% deposit is needed to be added to the waitlist, however the full deposit is refundable at any time. The commission can be canceled prior to, during, or after the painting is finished either by Doug or the client. Art is very personal and subjective for both the client(s) and the artist, so in the event that a commissioned artwork is not claimed it will be released to the open market and/or the galleries. No harm done. This system has kept everybody happy, and mainly it allows Doug to follow his method which is inherent to his creative process. For a commission, typically clients will suggest a subject, and palette preferences. Doug does not accept all subjects or palettes but is happy  to hear what you have in mind. For example, a client might say they want a 72 in x 90 in horizontal artwork depicting something reminiscent of their favorite three paintings from his catalog. Since the deposit is 100% refundable Doug has the freedom to run with the suggestion and make it his own. The final artwork is a unique surprise for both Doug and the client.   

 

What is a Studio Proof?

There is a limited number of prints created of each artwork known as "Studio Proofs". These are in-house studio prints that are made during doug's process of final color correction on the artwork. Usually 10-12 prints are made at approximately12 x 18 in. (30.48 x 45.72 cm) These final color Studio Prints are limited edition hand signed, numbered and embossed.  Prints


Can I get custom sized prints and canvases from Doug?

Yes! Doug has affiliations with selected printers located in the United States that produce quality stretched canvases.  Contact the studio and request a quote by providing the title of the artwork you desire and the sizes you are most interested in.  Doug will choose the printer best suited for the type of artwork selected and get back to with a price that includes shipping. * Don't forget to sign the guestbook! ;-)

 

Can I get Limited Edition Embellished Canvases from Doug?

Yes! here are hand embellished canvas print of artwork you select from Doug's collection and it will be custom printed to a size you select then Doug will add to the painting and hand sign it. Contact the studio and request a quote by providing the title of the artwork you desire and the sizes you are most interested in.  Doug will get back to with a price that includes shipping. 

How did Doug discover his artistic talents?

Doug's talents were born from the education and training that started even before he had any idea as does most natural talents.  A father obsessed with Baseball started with hand eye coordination by throwing and catching any ball that was with in reach. He also had a passion for mechanical devices and loved cameras. My mother would naturally give me impromptu lessons in drawing and sketching every time she found a drawing tool in my hand. 

 

What inspired Doug to become an artist?

From a young age Doug knew that he loved to draw. He was praised by his teachers and classmates for the drawings he created. He put in many hours of practice throughout his childhood and learned a great deal from his mother who was an oil painter. The grade school Doug went to was more focused on Music as a creative outlet than art so Doug happily spent his time drawing in Music classes, which, for some reason no one seemed to mind! High school was different, Doug was allowed to skip beginner art classes and moved into advanced classes his freshman year. Doug was encouraged by both his parents, who supported his efforts to absorb as much knowledge about art and photography as he desired. Doug’s father was a mechanical engineer with an interest in photography was good friends who student / business associate of Ansel Adams who allowed Doug to assist him which lead to internships with several professional photographers.

 

Where did Doug grow up?

Doug was born in Amarillo, Texas but soon Doug moved to Dallas, Texas where he lived until going off to college. Blessed with the skills and talents introduced to him by his family and friends Doug was able to comfortably fit in with a wide range of social groups. Doug worked his way through his youth at Golf courses, movie theaters and camera stores. Doug was always encouraged to pursue his dreams, balancing a love for ones work with the pursuit of an art related career that would be more financially promising.  

 

Where did Doug go to school?

Doug attended advanced Art classes in high school, worked at camera stores, photo labs, interned with photographers including an associate and contemporary of Ansel Adams, attended university summer classes in advanced photography at Southern Methodist University, won a national publication design award and was featured in a documentary film which led to a college scholarship. Doug attended Texas A&M University where he earned his Bachelors of Science degree in Environmental Design (Architecture). As a way to further his Art education LaRue became a Medical Illustrator for one of the most prestigious Veterinary Medical Centers in the United States where is attended many artist workshops including Advanced Airbrush at the Smithsonian Institute of Natural History in Washington, D.C. 

 

How long has Doug been painting?

Doug has been painting since childhood but had to balance passion with income so he found jobs that were adjacent to "Artist".  Medical Illustrator, Production Artist, Lab Tech., Graphic Designer, Camera Operator, Photographer, Art Director, Creative Director, Producer, Architect...  Doug managed creative productions as he continued to paint and learn.  Eventually income derived from art production began to out perform design and brand management until it became the primary focus of his studio. Doug has published books and magazines, produced movies, directed photography for major cable tv networks, designed and built buildings and more but always come back to drawing and painting as a connection to his source creativity.

 

Where does Doug get inspiration for his art?

Early in Doug's career, while working as a Photographer Doug landed a commission to photograph a man's art collection in Houston, Texas. It turned out that the man was the retired CEO of the largest retail computer store chain on the west coast and his art collection was large, valuable and full of well known masters like Picasso, Rembrandt, Toulouse La Trek. Doug spent 2 days photographing all the art in the man's 3 story apartment in the Melrose district. One normally does not get the opportunity to touch or handle such works of art.  This was a profound experience for a young artist just getting started. To feel the surface of a 400 year old painting or run up a flight of stairs carrying an old antique easel only to frighten your client and find out that the rickety old easel is worth $200,000. 

While Doug used to rely more heavily on being inspired by photo references from his travels, in the past few years there has been a shift in the source of ideas. Doug spent years painting from photos in order to practice and develop technique knowing all along that conceptual subject matter is a key to his inspiration. Meditating has been a great source of ideas and direction. His recent paintings have been more conceptual  invoking inspiration through emotions. Doug will meditate then dive into an abstract canvas while continuing to meditate and focus on specific thoughts or general directions. Often times great conceptual mindful ideas reveal themselves while creating undirected abstract paintings.

 

What artists influence Doug’s work?

His work is influenced most by three of his favorite painters: Klimt, Van Gogh, and Picasso with a touch of Remedios Varo. He strives to one day have a signature style that others will be inspired by.

 

What advice does Doug have for young, aspiring artists?

Doug often tells young artists that an exploration of what gives meaning to your life in tandem with study and practice are essential to reaching their artistic goals. He also shares stories of his own success, telling fans about his years as an Art Director learning from seasoned professionals, which was an integral step required for turning art into a career. Social media has been a huge catalyst to Doug’s success. He places much importance on sharing through social media, and having pages specifically dedicated to art. The Web allows for free advertising, so new artists can gain traction in the art world with slow sustainable and organic growth. 

How long do Doug’s paintings take to complete?

Now that Doug is paintings a larger scale, his canvases take a few days to plan, and several weeks to complete. 

 

Does Doug teach classes?

Doug used to teach Photoshop and Photography classes, but has become too busy to continue teaching. He is now writing a three-part book about drawing, painting and photography.

 

What is Doug’s creative process?

Doug lives and works from his studio in Austin, Texas. An easy place to find yourself barefoot in the dirt, connected to the vibration of the planet. Doug needed his environment to become quiet so he could align his frequencies and connect to source. On painting days Doug is adorns a funky old sleeveless t-shirt and shorts, crank up the music and make sure Moo Moo the studio cat has food in her bowl. Most of his paintings begin with an iPhone note, photo reference or a page from one of 76 sketchbooks laying all over. Later he moves to Photoshop to build out the idea in full color using a system of digital collage or montage. Next he prints the digital sketch and preps his canvas with a colored wash of watered-down Holbein oils-his paints of choice. Once the base coat dries Doug launches full steam into the painting.  Most paintings are several days in a row of working 8-10 hour each day, and time flies as his brushes, gloves, knives and rags massage the canvas, feeling the thick oil colors or acrylics bringing the canvas to life. 

 

Has Doug considered experimenting with other techniques in the future?

Doug has always experimented with various mediums.  In fact Doug has approached all his creative endeavors from an Artist's perspective.  Wether it is designing buildings, producing movies or designing books and magazines there is a common thread to the conceptual approach. This is a part of education of a well rounded artist.  Doug’s primary mediums include ink, oils, acrylics and photography and digital tools like a stylus, drawing tablets and applications.

 

What has been Doug’s most difficult/technical painting and why?

Those with several humans included like “Big Band” or Armadillo Art Squad which is an ink illustration depicting a large number of artist’s portraits. If you are bold enough to create portraits of fellow contemporaries, then you better make sure the are accurate and flattering to the artist!